Why Enlisted is my Jam

We all know how hard it sucks with the power of a thousand suns when a network cancels a show you loved. Or when they cancel something you’d always meant to watch, but never got around to. Firefly, anyone? Veronica Mars? For me the cancellation of Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip was particularly painful. I was even way into The Assets on ABC this year before they pulled it. (IT WAS A MINI-SERIES, GUYS. WHY BOTHER PULLING IT?)

So I wanted to show some love on my blog for great shows that for some unknown reason seem not to be reaching the viewers they should.

Enlisted (Fox, Friday, 9pm EDT) is my weekly comedy fix. Even with a week filled with The Big Bang Theory, The Mindy Project and Cougar Town, Enlisted fills a comedic hole I didn’t know I had. Equal parts cross-your-legs funny, and do-I-need-a-tissue touching, it tells the story of a big-shot hero soldier being sent to run a rear detachment unit in which his two younger brothers serve.

Enlisted has been critically acclaimed by every review I’ve read. Last week Entertainment Weekly said: “(This week) The brothers are prompted to reevaluate their lives, but you should reevaluate why you are not watching this charming comedy”.

I echo this sentiment. Why. Are. You. Not. Watching? Go look for it on your TV Guide and at least DVR it this week. I promise you you won’t regret it.

Let me know which shows do you hope and pray will stay on our schedules and, well, I’ll watch yours if you watch mine! One random commenter will win something military-ish.

One thought on “Why Enlisted is my Jam

  1. Samanthe

    Okay, I’ll check out Enlisted! I hadn’t even heard of it before I read your blog, which gives you an idea of how behind I am on my TV viewing…as well as my Entertainment Weekly reading.

    Reply

Tell me what you think!

